Meet the committees

SAFREA is run by volunteer committee members and a part-time administrator. The committee structure is as follows:

  • Executive Committee
  • Oversight Committee
  • Regional Committees

Executive Committee (Exco) 2018/19

The Exco is a group of volunteers who are chosen by nomination/election to take on portfolios to run SAFREA on a daily basis.

The current Exco comprises:

  • Tina Krynauw: Interim Chair, representing Western Cape 
  • Lynne Smit: Treasurer
  • Antony Jongwe: Discipline portfolio
  • Laura Dubber: Website portfolio

To contact Exco email:

Oversight Committee (OS) 2018/19

The Oversight Committee (OS) comprises senior members and senior media professionals who are elected for a two-year term. Their role is to oversee SAFREA's Executive Committee to ensure that protocols are followed and that the organisation continues to grow and strengthen.

The current OS comprises:

  • Gareth Griffiths: Convenor
  • Gwen Watkins: Deputy Convenor
  • Patricia Holburn: Honorary Secretary
  • Colleen Dawson
  • Kerry Dimmer
  • Solly Moeng
  • Sungula Nkabinde

To contact OS email:

Regional Committees (Regcos) 

There are elected committees in Eastern Cape, Gauteng North, Gauteng South, KwaZulu-Natal and Western Cape. Each region meets regularly.

The current Regcos comprise:

Eastern Cape 

The Eastern Cape region currently falls under Exco so to get in touch please email:

Gauteng North 2018/19

  • Antony Jongwe
  • Palesa Matlala 
  • Mandisa Mbele

To contact the Gauteng North Regco email:

Gauteng South 2018/19         

  • Kimberley Mutandiro: Vice Chair
  • Thabitha Matsatsi
  • Kate Ferreira
  • Laura Dubber
  • Annie DuPre
  • Helen Grange

To contact the Gauteng South Regco email:

KwaZulu-Natal 2018/19      

  • Langa Khanyile
  • Barbara Cole

To contact the KZN Regco email:

Western Cape 2018/19

  • Tina Krynauw: Chair
  • To contact the Western Cape Regco email:


SAFREA is a Registered Non-Profit Organisation (NPO 114-297).
PBO 930049795