Meet the committees

SAFREA is run by volunteer committee members and a part-time administrator. The committee structure is as follows:

  • Executive Committee
  • Oversight Committee
  • Regional Committees

Executive Committee (Exco) 2017/18

The Exco is a group of volunteers who are chosen by nomination/election to take on portfolios to run SAFREA on a daily basis.

The current Exco comprises:

  • Meneesha Govender: Interim Chair, Online and Social Media Portfolio Head, representing KwaZulu-Natal
  • Cathy Dippnall: Executive Administrator
  • Sharon Salmon: representing Eastern Cape
  • Anneline du Preez: representing Gauteng North
  • Renee Moodie: representing Western Cape 
  • Robyn Thekiso: Rates Survey and Report Portfolio Head, representing Gauteng South
  • Anthony Jongwe
  • Laura Dubber: Website and Innovation Portfolio Head
  • Ntozakhe Mthukwane: Membership Secretary 

To contact Exco email:

Oversight Committee (OS) 2017/18

The Oversight Committee (OS) comprises senior members and senior media professionals who are elected for a two-year term. Their role is to oversee SAFREA's Executive Committee to ensure that protocols are followed and that the organisation continues to grow and strengthen.

The current OS comprises:

  • Gwen Watkins: Convenor
  • Norman McFarlane: Deputy Convenor
  • Gareth Griffiths: Deputy Convenor
  • Judy Blackhouse
  • Colleen Dawson
  • Patricia Holburn
  • Kerry Dimmer
  • Lyse Comins

To contact OS email:

Regional Committees (Regcos) 2017/18

There are elected committees in Eastern Cape, Gauteng North, Gauteng South, KwaZulu-Natal and Western Cape. Each region meets regularly.

The current Regcos comprise:

Eastern Cape

  • Sharon Salmon: Chair
  • Bruce Cooper: Treasurer and Secretary
  • Tim Salmon
  • Samantha Venter (consultant)

To contact the Eastern Cape Regco email:

Gauteng North

  • Anneline du Preez: Chair
  • Antony Jongwe: Vice Chair
  • Nalene de Klerk: Secretary
  • Palesa Matlala 
  • Mandise Mbele
  • Rita Sephton
  • Philip Erasmus

To contact the Gauteng North Regco email:

Gauteng South          

  • Robyn Thekiso: Interim Chair
  • Busani Moyo
  • Gugu Manana

To contact the Gauteng South Regco email:


  • Meneesha Govender: Chair
  • Lois Khule: Vice Chair
  • Johara Mansura
  • Amanda Mathe

To contact the KZN Regco email:

Western Cape

  • Renee Moodie: Interim Chair
  • Christopher Clarke
  • Morgan Trimble

To contact the Western Cape Regco email:


Safrea is a Registered Non-Profit Organisation (NPO 114-297).
PBO 930049795